On 7 July 2015 four suicide bombers struck London's transport network, killing 52 people and injuring over 770 others.

Three of the blasts happened on London Underground, on or around 8.50am, in the vicinity of Aldgate, Edgware Road and Russell Square stations. The fourth device exploded at 9.47am on a bus that had been diverted via Tavistock Square, close to where BTP’s HQ was at the time. The building became a base for the walking wounded to assemble in.

BTP officers and staff from across the organisation worked tirelessly on the day of the bombings and in the days, weeks and months that followed to deal with the tragic consequences of these acts and to help ensure safety on the rail way.

Many colleagues were honoured for their extraordinary efforts during what was described as one of the biggest challenges faced by the police service in post-war Britain. The circumstances were complex, difficult and dangerous, however BTP officers carried out their vital and specialist roles - including initial rescue, body recovery, search and mortuary duties, as well as supporting the extensive coroner’s inquiry which followed. They showed exceptional courage and professionalism during this critical time. 

They were supported by non-operational colleagues who also went above and beyond to support the frontline professionally and sensitively, whilst helping to get the transport network in London restored quickly, efficiently and safely following the attacks.

Chief Constable Paul Crowther said: “The heroic efforts of BTP personnel and all agencies who responded to the events of 7 July 2005 will never be forgotten and the memories of what happened on that day remain firmly in our minds. 

“During the most difficult circumstances, BTP provided an absolutely outstanding level of service.

“A lot of things have changed since 7/7, both in how we monitor threats and how we respond when they are apparent.

“We now have comprehensive communications system which allows us to link in with Transport for London and other agencies much more efficiently.

“We have far greater access to CCTV, with more widespread coverage than ten years ago, and we use regular training exercises to test our response to threats.

“All of these changes are designed to help us ensure this terrible tragedy never happens again.”

Honouring 7/7 heroes

To honour the officers, support staff, members of the public and train operating company staff who went the extra mile following the attacks, BTP held two special commendation ceremonies in December 2005 and April 2006.

Among the 173 people who were honoured at the ceremonies were officers involved in the initial rescue, body recovery, search and mortuary duties.

Speaking at the first ceremony, Secretary of State for Transport Alistair Darling told officers: "I hope you realise that right around the world, there was tremendous admiration. All of you can take pride in what you have done. Getting London back to work the next day was a tribute to your efforts."

Ian Johnston, BTP's Chief Constable at the time of the bombings, said: "(The bombings) called for an unprecedented response from all the emergency services. Without exception, that response was truly magnificent and BTP played a key part in it.

"This was a complex, difficult and dangerous major incident across a number of sites, requiring the highest levels of courage, professionalism and expertise. It was probably the biggest challenge faced by the police service in post-war Britain.

"For those of us who were not on the front line, we can only imagine the horrors that you faced, and the surroundings in which you worked so professionally."


The following BTP officers, members of staff, train operating company staff and members of the public were honoured for their efforts following the London bombings of 7 July 2005.

Superintendent Andy Ball was commended for his outstanding performance in his role as Silver Support and Chief Superintendent Paul Crowther in his role as Silver Command.

Superintendent John Hennigan and Chief Superintendent Peter Hilton were commended for their tireless work helping to lead the Force’s operations.

For their actions at Edgware Road station, Commendations were awarded to:

PC Andrew Graham PC Antony Samiotis
PC Geoffrey Potter PC Peter Cartwright
PC Trevor Albert PC Noel Lilly
Sergeant Martin Rolfe PC Kevin Munks
PC Luke Simpson PC Lee Garrett
PC Daniel Steggles PC Kim Anderson

For their actions at King’s Cross and Russell Square stations, Commendations were awarded to:

Inspector Ray Shields PC Carolyne Buttery
T/Inspector Stephen Mingay PC Enzo Silvestro
Sergeant Steve Betts Inspector James Nattrass
PC Matthew Arnold Inspector Glen McMunn
PC Gerard Collins Detective Sergeant Alex Bell
PC Kevin Johnson PC Raymond Beresford-Cole
PC Charles McGrotty PC Steven Bryan
PC Stephen Noon Detective Sergeant Michael Carney
PC Andrew Spiby PC Aaron Debnam
PC Adam Mason A/Chief Inspector Paul Garrett
PC Gareth Hill PC Christopher Major
PC Christopher Nixon PC Gary Whelan
Sergeant John Barry PC Roy Brewer
Sergeant Peter Burton PC Ricky Devadasan
PC Steve Hedger PC John Malone
Inspector Rae Jiggins Inspector Sean McGachie
PC Andrew Lyons PC Elaine Meaden
Police Sergeant Mark Salway Police Dog Vinnie
Detective Sergeant Jeffrey Hull PC Alan Muggleton
PC David Coleman Police Dog Joe
PC Gregory Bond PC Simon Swan
PC Terrence Hall PC Russell Theobald
PC Simon Walker A/Sergeant David Webb

For their actions at Tavistock Square, Commendations were awarded to:

Inspector Ciaran Dermody PC Gary Sims
PC Neville Lazenby PC Andy Jones

For their actions at Aldgate station, Commendations were awarded to:

Inspector Robert Munn PC Robert Whyte
A/Sergeant Ezekiel Awoyomi Sergeant Keith Barnes
DC Antonio Silvestro PC Paul Curran
PC Alan Cotter PC Danny Cash
PC Michael Hatcher PC Nicholas Dipper
PC David Read A/Sergeant Adrian Neylan

For their work in the mortuary team, Commendations were awarded to:

PC Stephen Cox PC Carolyn Brinsley
PC Jeremy Davis PC Colin Clark
PC Gareth Norris PC Phillip Hansford
Sergeant Barry Harding PC Angelina Ogden
A/Sergeant Gary Hayes PC Andy Vale
PC Stephen Curry DC Ann Michelsen

For their work as part of the Post Mortem team, Commendations were awarded to:

A/Detective Sergeant Ian Avery DC Paul Green
DC Gary Beckwith Detective Sergeant Paul Hargreaves
DC Andrew Brett DC Paddy Kerr
DC Robert Dobbie DC Mark Povey

The following were honoured at the second ceremony in April 2006:

Lucy Anderson DI Ian Baker
Sergeant Steve Betts Special Constable Lindsay Boraster
Special Constable Christopher Chandler PC Martin Chapman
PC Peter Clark PC Daniel Collins
Police Dog Leo PC Jonathan Etches
Sergeant Neil Forsyth Police Dog Monty
PC Malcolm Gosling T/Sergeant Kevin Gordon
PC Paul Deboick PC Jane Evans
PC Angela Charles Inspector Michael Burnham
PC Anthony Bell PC Stephen Gould
Police Dog Buddy PC Terrence Hall
DC Martin Hand PCSO Kirsty Hillsden
Chief Inspector Andrew Hunt Nigel Lucker
Debbie Hurst PC Victoria Marks
Laraine Jackett PC Saul Marshall
PC Colin Jepson Special Constable Matthew Mason
Chief Inspector Bob Kenwrick Sergeant Brendan McCambridge
PC Lindsay McLachlan PCSO Samantha Miller
PC Tracy Mulcahy Stephanie Newbury
PC Daniel O’Halloran PC Phil Peal
DC Crispin Owen PC Mark Phillips
PCSO Darshak Patel Inspector Frank Placzek
A/DS James Preston Special Constable Mark Prinn
PC Natasha Rankin Graham Richens
PC Deborah Russell-Fenwick MBE PC Chris Saunders
PC Mohammad Shah DC Antonio Silvestro
Cynthia Stewart DC Kevin Thomas
PC Russ Theobald Sergeant Barry Vasselin
PC Elliot Waite Leslie Warne
Special Constable Marcus West PC William Woolford