7/7 commendations

The following BTP officers, members of staff, train operating company staff and members of the public were honoured for their efforts following the London bombings of 7 July 2005.

BTP Commendations December 2005

Superintendent Andy Ball was commended for his outstanding performance in his role as Silver Support and Chief Superintendent Paul Crowther in his role as Silver Command.

Superintendent John Hennigan and Chief Superintendent Peter Hilton were commended for their tireless work helping to lead the Force’s operations.

For their actions at Edgware Road station, Commendations were awarded to:

PC Andrew Graham PC Antony Samiotis
PC Geoffrey Potter PC Peter Cartwright
PC Trevor Albert PC Noel Lilly
Sergeant Martin Rolfe PC Kevin Munks
PC Luke Simpson PC Lee Garrett
PC Daniel Steggles PC Kim Anderson


For their actions at King’s Cross and Russell Square stations, Commendations were awarded to:

Inspector Ray Shields PC Carolyne Buttery
T/Inspector Stephen Mingay PC Enzo Silvestro
Sergeant Steve Betts Inspector James Nattrass
PC Matthew Arnold Inspector Glen McMunn
PC Gerard Collins Detective Sergeant Alex Bell
PC Kevin Johnson PC Raymond Beresford-Cole
PC Charles McGrotty PC Steven Bryan
PC Stephen Noon Detective Sergeant Michael Carney
PC Andrew Spiby PC Aaron Debnam
PC Adam Mason A/Chief Inspector Paul Garrett
PC Gareth Hill PC Christopher Major
PC Christopher Nixon PC Gary Whelan
Sergeant John Barry PC Roy Brewer
Sergeant Peter Burton PC Ricky Devadasan
PC Steve Hedger PC John Malone
Inspector Rae Jiggins Inspector Sean McGachie
PC Andrew Lyons PC Elaine Meaden
Police Sergeant Mark Salway Police Dog Vinnie
Detective Sergeant Jeffrey Hull PC Alan Muggleton
PC David Coleman Police Dog Joe
PC Gregory Bond PC Simon Swan
PC Terrence Hall PC Russell Theobald
PC Simon Walker A/Sergeant David Webb


For their actions at Tavistock Square, Commendations were awarded to:

Inspector Ciaran Dermody PC Gary Sims
PC Neville Lazenby PC Andy Jones


For their actions at Aldgate station, Commendations were awarded to:

Inspector Robert Munn PC Robert Whyte
A/Sergeant Ezekiel Awoyomi Sergeant Keith Barnes
DC Antonio Silvestro PC Paul Curran
PC Alan Cotter PC Danny Cash
PC Michael Hatcher PC Nicholas Dipper
PC David Read A/Sergeant Adrian Neylan


For their work in the mortuary team, Commendations were awarded to:

PC Stephen Cox PC Carolyn Brinsley
PC Jeremy Davis PC Colin Clark
PC Gareth Norris PC Phillip Hansford
Sergeant Barry Harding PC Angelina Ogden
A/Sergeant Gary Hayes PC Andy Vale
PC Stephen Curry DC Ann Michelsen


For their work as part of the Post Mortem team, Commendations were awarded to:

A/Detective Sergeant Ian Avery DC Paul Green
DC Gary Beckwith Detective Sergeant Paul Hargreaves
DC Andrew Brett DC Paddy Kerr
DC Robert Dobbie DC Mark Povey


The following were honoured at the second ceremony in April 2006:

Lucy Anderson DI Ian Baker
Sergeant Steve Betts Special Constable Lindsay Boraster
Special Constable Christopher Chandler PC Martin Chapman
PC Peter Clark PC Daniel Collins
Police Dog Leo PC Jonathan Etches
Sergeant Neil Forsyth Police Dog Monty
PC Malcolm Gosling T/Sergeant Kevin Gordon
PC Paul Deboick PC Jane Evans
PC Angela Charles Inspector Michael Burnham
PC Anthony Bell PC Stephen Gould
Police Dog Buddy PC Terrence Hall
DC Martin Hand PCSO Kirsty Hillsden
Chief Inspector Andrew Hunt Nigel Lucker
Debbie Hurst PC Victoria Marks
Laraine Jackett PC Saul Marshall
PC Colin Jepson Special Constable Matthew Mason
Chief Inspector Bob Kenwrick Sergeant Brendan McCambridge
PC Lindsay McLachlan PCSO Samantha Miller
PC Tracy Mulcahy Stephanie Newbury
PC Daniel O’Halloran PC Phil Peal
DC Crispin Owen PC Mark Phillips
PCSO Darshak Patel Inspector Frank Placzek
A/DS James Preston Special Constable Mark Prinn
PC Natasha Rankin Graham Richens
PC Deborah Russell-Fenwick MBE PC Chris Saunders
PC Mohammad Shah DC Antonio Silvestro
Cynthia Stewart DC Kevin Thomas
PC Russ Theobald Sergeant Barry Vasselin
PC Elliot Waite Leslie Warne
Special Constable Marcus West PC William Woolford